Tropenophthalmologie-Preis gestiftet vom Deutschen Komitee zur Verhütung von Blindheit, der Christoffel-Blindemission, Ursapharm Arzneimittel GmbH, 1stQ Deutschland GmbH & Co. KG

Preisträger: Dr. Kaushick Biswas (Kalkutta/Indien)

Jurymitglieder

Prof. Dr. Volker Klauß (München/Vorsitzender), Prof. Dr. Matthias Sachsenweger (Landshut), Dr. Hannsjürgen Trojan (Marburg)

Laudatio

Prof. Dr. Volker Klauß, Juryvorsitzender

The recipient of the 2011 Tropical Ophthalmology Award is

Dr. Kaushick Biswas (Kolkatta / India)

Dr. Biswas has been in close contact with DOG and DKVB for more than 10 years, attending annual congresses of both organizations, presenting the results of his research work in the congresses and being involved in mutual research work, namely on the treatment of Eales disease with Avastin.



Dotierung: 5.000 €

Since 2001 Dr. Biswas regularly conducts eye camps in the Himalaya mountains to give access to eye care to people in remote areas without eye care services. This is Dr. Biswas 's personal initiative that he conducts with great enthusiasm under very challenging conditions. So far 20 eye camps reached more than 5.000 patients for diagnoses and treatment, including cataract surgery.

Through his voluntary activities and his close cooperation with German Ophthalmology Dr. Biswas is an outstanding ambassador of ophthalmology and an example to his fellow ophthalmologists.

DOG and DKVB are proud to present the 2011 Tropical Ophthalmology Award to Dr. Biswas.

DOG 2011 44